One of my favourite authors was born today

Posted On January 17, 2007

Filed under On this day

Comments Dropped one response

Nevil Shute was born in 1899 yet his books are still very readable today. I have read 3 of his books –A town like Alice I read this after seeing the movie on TV, The Far Country and  On the Beach a story I dont ever think I’ll forget.

I plan to read more in the future.

Nevil  was born in London and served in both World Wars.  He had 2 daughters to his wife Frances Heaton.  Although he started the wars as a soldier and a pilot his writing saw him end up in 1944 as a war correspondent.  After WW2 he moved to Australia .  He died in Melbourne Australia in 1960.

 shutepic.jpg

One Response to “One of my favourite authors was born today”

  1. Kitty

    he sounds very interesting!

Leave a Reply

