Last Night in Review

Posted On January 28, 2007

Filed under home and family

Comments Dropped 35 responses

update.jpg News Article about the night

I was very excited. Heck Id been excited since last Monday. I cant tell you how much I was bursting to tell you all on Tuesday morning. However I’m pleased I waited till yesterday I got heaps of comments for my blog. Heaps for my blog anyway. Wonder how many lurkers read my blog and don’t bother commenting.

So back to last night. I was also nervous. I had never collected at a concert before and coming from a big city and having experienced concerts where you hear and see very aggro people I was a bit worried. However, it was unfounded here in the Bay. As far as I know and from what Ive read about previous concerts at the Mission the people 26,000 last night are well behaved.

We my friend’s mum and I arrived at the concert venue and stood around waiting for directions about starting our collection. We finally were handed a bucket each and split into 2 groups. The first group were lead up the front of the stage and the rest of us waited 5 minutes then started off 1/2 way back into the crowd. I asked my friend’s mum if I could go with her for a minute my nerves at their max. She got stuck in and I found it was a learn as you go job. We got separated fairly quickly though. It turned out so easy though. People knew we were there – our tshirts were bright and boldly told people where we were from and the commentator also told the crowds. People yelled out “Hey!” and gave generously. I made my way though the crowds at one stage hiking up a hill. Picking my way though the people and watching my step as it turned out to be steeper than I had imagined. Jiggling my bucket as I went. After a while I decided to go back on to more level ground. As I went I saw our local friendly diary owner and we said “Hi!!” and she poured more $$ into my bucket.

After about an hour the people seemed to slow down in their giving. We had been told not to bring our buckets back till they were full however I took the fact that people weren’t giving as much and more importantly that my bucket was getting H E A V Y as a sign that Id probably done enough. Slowly I made my way back to the van and thought well if they tell me off about it I will go back out into the crowds and try again. However they didn’t they actually congratulated me for doing a good job and said that I had done well πŸ™‚ Later comparing it with my friend’s mum’s bucket I decided I had a right to be pleased with myself.

Next we went back to our car and picked up our dinner. Found a place to put our deck chairs and settled down to a very well earned dinner and drink. Dont ask me why but we both found collecting thirsty and hungry work. Before too much longer Eric came on to the stage. He played his newer music and a lot of instrumentals in the first half of the concert. In the 2nd hour he had the audience dancing, singing and yahooing including me as he played his older and in my opinion better music.

Highlights were when Clapton played a love song and I shed a tear or two as I looked beyond the stage at the city lights and thanked God for bringing me to the Bay and falling in love with Muzz. He sang his song “Cocaine” and I rejoiced and clapped as he sang “I’m not going to do it!” I read recently that Clapton has debated singing this song these days as he has struggled with this drug in his past. I don’t know how many other people realised what he had sang but to me the mere fact that he included this line was very important. Good on you Eric.

The ending was a bit disappointing. He and the band bowed and briefly waved and off they went. Clapton had hardly spoken to the crowd all night. We waited and waited for an encore but there wasn’t one. Five minutes later my friends mum pointed out 3 cars leaving the concert on a road slightly behind the stage and said I bet hes left. Shortly after that the lights came on and the ads started playing on the big screens. We made our way back to our car slowly 26,000 people is a lot to make ones way though. Especially when you’re trying to get out of a venue that’s poorly lit. I reflected upon the fact that it wasn’t long enough. However, I always remember feeling that way about concerts in the dark dim past when prices were much more affordable. But do I want?? Clapton had played almost nonstop for 2 hours.

I also would have liked him to use stage props more. I just saw West Life on TV and they were very interesting using props. However, I don’t feel I can complain. I am very grateful for being blessed with this experience especially in light of the fact that my friend thought of me first and considering how much the tickets were. Thanks Ang. You deserve a huge hug next time I see you.

18-clapton.jpg

I’ll leave with 2 songs from the bands last night to enjoy Clapton and Pearl

35 Responses to “Last Night in Review”

  1. Amy

    I’m glad you enjoyed yourselves. Time out’s great isn’t it? πŸ™‚

  2. Murray Whittington

    Yes it is good that a time out is great and Jenz is privileged to be there and experience a concert environment in Hawkes Bay (New Zealand) she never been to before, and I enjoyed my time looking after the boys we watched a dvd and had popcorn and a few drinks and had fun while she was at the concert helping.

    so both sides had fun and enjoyed the night.

    Daddy

  3. Jana

    Awwww… I’m glad you had so much fun!!!!!!

  4. Diane J.

    Hi, Jen. Love your new home! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for your comments on my blog.

    Regarding the Bible Gateway button, I made the button myself, then linked it to the site. You’re welcome to use my button for yourself. Just right-click on it and save it to your computer. Do you know how to do the code to link it to Bible Gateway and put it in your sidebar? I don’t know anything about the code for WordPress, so I can’t help you there. Sorry. If you don’t know how to do it, maybe a friend who knows WordPress coding can help you.

    Have a great weekend,

    Diane

  5. Susanne

    Wow, 26000 people. All in one place. That’s a lot of people. Glad you had a great evening.

  6. Rachel

    Glad you had a good time! :).

  7. supermom

    Glad you had a good time and collected so much

  8. jenz

    Thanks Diane its a good site one I use every day πŸ™‚
    wow I feel blessed 7 comments
    keep reading and commenting everyone love you all

  9. Shoes

    Shoes

    interesting

  10. south beach diet

    south beach diet

    interesting…

  11. buy phentermine online

    buy phentermine online

    ok

  12. Free Slot Games

    Free Slot Games

    great

  13. Free Slot Games For Fun

    Free Slot Games For Fun

    great

  14. mortgage refinancing

    mortgage refinancing

    ok

  15. home equity line of credit

    home equity line of credit

    ok

  16. Free Antivirus Software

    Free Antivirus Software

    excellent blog!

  17. Online Poker Calculator

    Online Poker Calculator

    best poker

  18. Best Poker Tools

    Best Poker Tools

    best poker

  19. Cingular Blackjack

    Cingular Blackjack

    Blackjack

  20. Business Grant

    Business Grant

    good work, great blog

  21. Norton Antivirus

    Norton Antivirus

    good work, great blog

  22. Ipod Toilet Dock

    Ipod Toilet Dock

    useful

  23. Ps 2 Game Cheats

    Ps 2 Game Cheats

    Free PS & PS2 Game Cheats!

  24. Playstation2 Game Cheats

    Playstation2 Game Cheats

    Free PS & PS2 Game Cheats!

  25. Medical Questions

    Medical Questions

    All about Medicine

  26. Medical Advice

    Medical Advice

    All about Medicine

  27. Business Opportunities

    Business Opportunities

    nice blog!!

  28. Ps2 Cheats Codes

    Ps2 Cheats Codes

    very nice blog

  29. Ps2 Cheat Codes

    Ps2 Cheat Codes

    very nice blog

  30. Ps2 Cheats

    Ps2 Cheats

    very nice blog

  31. Ps2 Games

    Ps2 Games

    very nice blog

  32. Ipod Accessories

    Ipod Accessories

    very nice blog

  33. Business Plan

    Business Plan

    business

  34. Free Mp3 Ringtones

    Free Mp3 Ringtones

    thank you!!

  35. kamagra

    kamagra

    ok

Leave a Reply

