Psalm 13

Posted On April 2, 2007

Filed under faith, Sunday's meme

Comments Dropped 4 responses

psalmssunday41gj8thumbnail1.jpg

click here to link

1 How long, O LORD ? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?

 

2 How long must I wrestle with my thoughts
and every day have sorrow in my heart?
How long will my enemy triumph over me?

 

3 Look on me and answer, O LORD my God.
Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death;

 

4 my enemy will say, “I have overcome him,”
and my foes will rejoice when I fall.

 

5 But I trust in your unfailing love;
my heart rejoices in your salvation.

 

6 I will sing to the LORD,
for he has been good to me.

This is a prayer to God asking for recovery from a serious sickness (verse 3) from David. Four times David asks “How long . . .”? He feels forgotten about.
Then, despite how sick and forgotten about David feels he is announces in verse 5 “But I trust in your unfailing love”
Is this always true of us? What a familiar temptation it is when trouble lasts along time, to start to imagine that it will always be like this now. People who have been sad for a long time or have been going difficulties a long time start to begin to lose hope. When we are going though difficulties and trials we commonly forget to put our trust in God. We forget that God can bring us through it.

We need to be like David. Are we and can we be like him and rise above all of our distressing fears, and throw ourselves, without reserve, on the compassion and care of our Divine Redeemer.
NB:- Although David lived before Jesus was born the old testament does teach about life after death. See Psalm 9:17; 16:10; Isaiah 5:14; 38:10.

In the midst of our trials and difficulties we need to be like David and verse 6 I will sing to the LORD, for he has been good to me. If we do turn to God it can bring us to the pinnacle of spiritual confidence and joy.

Last year was a hard year for me. I confess that at the beginning of it all I forgot that God is right there beside us, always. Carrying us when we are too weak to go on ourselves. However, finally I turned to God. I was reminded (by Him) to sing to Him. I began to see the the power of my faith in Him. I began to see how good it was to draw near to Him. I began to remember that God is there and had been all along. I began to see that I was able to cry, pray and lay all my cares and hurt at His feet.

This year I began to heal. I began to see how I could leave my cares and hurts at His feet. I began to see how God is my supporter. As this year continues on and as I read more I can feel the change in me. God is my redeemer and he loves and cares for me. He unlike others will never leave me or forsake nor reject me. Praise His holy name ea14.gif

4 Responses to “Psalm 13”

  1. Denise

    You really make my heart smile.

  2. Barbara H.

    That’s a wonderful testimony, Jen.

  3. Mary

    Thanks for sharing that, Jen. So encouraging. It’s the one redeeming thing about trials, they turn us to Jesus, and I know for me, it really is a worthwhile experience to go through it and come out closer to Him. To be able to see how He got me through it. Experiencing grace!

  4. Erica

    Jen- I too had a similar experience a couple of years ago…God was who I should have been going to and I wasn’t. It took a friend of mine asking me if I had faith in God to help me realize the error of my ways. And I also feel like the past year has been a year of healing…as I draw closer to Him.

Leave a Reply

