The training meeting

Posted On April 28, 2007

Filed under faith, outings

Comments Dropped 5 responses

Muzz had the boys today. I attended a training meeting at a church. Those that hold positions at church have to attend these meetings.

We discussed compassion. How we have to forgive ourselves us God does. And how we shouldnt judge but instead get alongside others in need. That by using our past life experiences we can show compassion towards others when they face similar experiences.

We discussed tensions we face in our ministry life and our everyday life. We agreed that we are Christians living in a secur world and that this too can cause tensions.

Lastly after a wonderfully yummy lunch we discussed the divisions there are between Christians. I found this the most interesting as this happened to me several years ago. A close friend belonged to one denomination and I another. He was sure I was making a mistake in where I was attending church. He was quite strong in this opinion. I accepted that He is my brother in Christ and was allowed different views to me. I spent some time alone (I called it a mini retreat I got sick and used the time to study the Word) in this time I decided that we can be different and that I could accept and respect his right to be different. I decided I was in the right place for me at the time and that what it all came down to is that God loved both of us. Our common ground was that we both loved Jesus. I dont feel that denominations should separate and divide sisters and brothers in Christ. We should celebrate the fact that we are all Gods children and He loves us all. I dont remember telling my friend what I had decided maybe I did, maybe I didnt, I had settled it in my own heart.Ā  He didnt pester me again about this matter and we are still friends.

I invite anyone who attended this training day and arrived at different conclusions to me to comment. And you may have, I was surprised to learn some of this training even went over the head of one of the assistant priests. I know you guys read my blog šŸ™‚ Comments are welcome they help me learn and understand more about God and my faith.

5 Responses to “The training meeting”

  1. Gretchen Hanna

    You’re right, Jen, we are to be unified under Christ. Denominations are man-made. Glad you enjoyed your training. Hugs.

  2. Bonnie @ Grandparents Corner

    Well Jen, I left a long message but I don’t see it. Hopefully it will show up soon. Otherwise…. let me know and I’ll be back to share what I said. LOL

    Hugs and blessings to you!

  3. denise

    I agree with you sweety, denominations should not divide us. we are all one in our Lord.

  4. jenz

    thanks for the comments

  5. Rachel

    I’m glad the training went well! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

