I AM – So You Don’t Have To Be Lesson Four “When Life Doesn’t Work Out Like You Planned” Part Two

Posted On May 3, 2007

Filed under I am study

Comments Dropped 15 responses

iambuttonofficial.jpg

click on the picture to link

Discussion Questions:

1. I am going to present to you a little acrostic to begin our discussion today. What is your latest NLIP? (Not Like I Planned?)

My daughter leaving to go to live with her father and now her grandparents is not how I planned it at all.  I tried so hard to bring up Billy and Sarah as full brother and sister instead of only half.  It broke my heart the day she left.  My dream was broken.  In the months following her departure she caused a great rift in our family and I am not at a place where I can even begin to  see forgetting that yet.  I can forgive I cant forget.

2. How did you react to your NLIP? Are you still upset about it? Happy about it? Baffled by it? Explain.

Eventually I turned my pain and hurt over to God.  Im still coming to terms with it.  I am disappointed about it.  It will take years to truly over come it.   I think however that it taught me to lean on God much more than I ever have.

3. Have you ever attempted to step into an area of ministry and found your desire rejected? Did this cause you to question God and yourself? Perhaps distrust what you perceived to be your calling?

No I have never attempted to step into an area of ministry and found my desire was rejected.  However, after doing the personality test a few weeks ago I am questioning whether teaching is where I should be headed.  I scored quite low for teaching.  This does make me question myself and all that I have done in the way of the training.  I am giving it over to God however, he knows the plans He has for me.

4. Do you harbor any bitterness towards any individual or situation which you believe waylaid your best laid plans?

yes but Im working on the forgiveness

5. Have you had a life experience or trial that left you with a shaken faith because it ended in an NLIP? Please share if you feel free.

At first I was beyond shaken.  However I also believe that once I gave it all over to God and started leaning on Him He started to heal me

5. Based on Moses’ response of faith to his own rejection, how will you re-evaluate your own experiences or look at future ones differently if a NLIP presents itself?

I will lean on God much sooner

15 Responses to “I AM – So You Don’t Have To Be Lesson Four “When Life Doesn’t Work Out Like You Planned” Part Two”

  1. jenz

    I found this study hard today I was told not to blog about it but I am sick of wearing a mask about it. I am a grown person. I should not be silented, bossed or threatened about it. I am 36 years old I should be able to be my own person. I pray that I wont be brought to trial by blogging about it

  2. mindymc5

    I sincerely hope that God will heal your heart!
    In Him –
    Mindy

  3. jenz

    thanks Mindy

  4. denise

    I pray for peace and sweet healing for you my dear friend. I love you.

  5. Svend

    my latest NLIP is I never really planned on having to make so many life altering decisions in the month of May, but it turns out I have to make or break my relationship with my girlfriend and decide on what career path I want to take. it sucks but will be worth it in the end

  6. thepreacherswife

    Dearest Jen,

    It sounds like you have been through so much pain…God will honor your honesty…It isn’t until we bring the whole thing from behind our back and let Him shine His light on it that we can be free…

    Bless you and thank you so much for being a part of this study!!

    Lisa

  7. Linda

    Jen, I’m so sorry you’ve been hurt so deeply. I believe God sees your heart and will honor the smallest steps you take work through the pain. I am proud of you.

  8. Leticia

    That is a tough situation and I am sure in time things will come together. Your faith in God is amazing and He can answer your prayers for all to be healed.

  9. Gretchen Hanna

    Jen, I so appreciate your honesty and candor. Lord, please bless my sister, Jen. I pray that you will honor her faith and grow it each day. I pray that she will be bathed in your love, your mercy, your healing and your blood of righteousness. Help her to forgive, I pray. Thank you for the work you are already doing in her heart and life. Thank you for your awesome and mighty and wondrous ways. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

  10. Alice

    Dear Jen, I didn’t see you blogging today and I got a little anxious and worried. I hope you are OK, my friend… Forgetting is a hard thing to do. I can understand that because I still couldn’t forget what my dad did to us when he left my mom and 6 of us siblings more than 12 years ago. But I know the God who forgives, will also help us forget bad memories. I hope this little verse from Philippians 3:13 will be an encouragement to you: No, dear brothers and sisters, I am still not all I should be, but I am focusing all my energies on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead. Keep well, Jen!

  11. Gen

    Hi Jen,

    WOW THAT WAS SOMETHING AND I am glad that you blogged about it – I pray someday that everything will work out ok.

    Loved the pics of the field trip you took with M & D!!! As you can see I have moved from blogger to WordPress – Should have done it ages ago!!!

    Hope you are having a great weekend!

  12. Gen

    Just incase you not sure (It’s me NMOTB)

  13. jenz

    bless you all and thank you from the bottom of my heart

  14. Nise'

    Keep turning your pain and hurt over to God, my dear sister, He wants it and He want to help you with it. Thanks for sharing something so painful. Beth Moore says, “forgiving doesn’t make it all right it makes YOU all right”!

  15. Susanne

    Jen, big hugs to you. That took a lot of courage. May God Bless it and cause miracles in your heart and in the situation.

Leave a Reply

