Psalm 17

Posted On May 6, 2007

Filed under Sunday's meme

Comments Dropped 7 responses

 

psalmssunday41gj8thumbnail1.jpg

click on the picture to link

Psalm 17:1-15

 

(A prayer by David.)
The Prayer of an Innocent Person
1I am innocent, LORD!

 

Won’t you listen as I pray

 

and beg for help?

 

I am honest!

 

Please hear my prayer.

 

2Only you can say

 

that I am innocent,

 

because only your eyes

 

can see the truth.

 

3You know my heart,

 

and even during the night

 

you have tested me

 

and found me innocent.

 

I have made up my mind

 

never to tell a lie.

 

4I don’t do like others.

 

I obey your teachings

 

and am not cruel.

 

5I have followed you,

 

without ever stumbling.

 

6I pray to you, God,

 

because you will help me.

 

Listen and answer my prayer!

 

7Show your wonderful love.

 

Your mighty arm protects those

 

who run to you

 

for safety

 

from their enemies.

 

8Protect me as you would

 

your very own eyes;

 

hide me in the shadow

 

of your wings.

 

9Don’t let my brutal enemies

 

attack from all sides

 

and kill me.

 

10They refuse to show mercy,

 

and they keep bragging.

 

11They have caught up with me!

 

My enemies are everywhere,

 

eagerly hoping to smear me

 

in the dirt.

 

12They are like hungry lions

 

hunting for food,

 

or like young lions

 

hiding in ambush.

 

13Do something, LORD!

 

Attack and defeat them.

 

Take your sword and save me

 

from those evil people.

 

14Use your powerful arm

 

and rescue me

 

from the hands of mere humans

 

whose world won’t last. [a] You provide food

 

for those you love.

 

Their children have plenty,

 

and their grandchildren

 

will have more than enough.

 

15I am innocent, LORD,

 

and I will see your face!

 

When I awake, all I want

 

is to see you as you are.

In this Psalm David pleas to God as Judge when he is being attacked by enemies.

Verse 2

God sees all He knows everything. He sees those who follow Him and those whom are lost. Verse 3 and 4 those that try to do right

We are reminded of God’s great strength He delivers us from weaknesses, helplessness and our imperfectness. When we turn to Him He will renew our trust in Him when He brings us out of that place.

Verse 7

is a great prayer and comfort! Seek protection from God when ever you feel like you are being attacked and your prayer with be answered and you shall be comforted. He always shows his unfailing love to us. In so many wonderful ways.

Verse 8
We are protected as much as God’s own eyes. Recently I had very dry skin on my eyelid I was worried as you only get one set of eyes. I was worried about infections. In this Psalm it says we are protected!! And it also says we are hidden in the shadow of His wings. This reminds me of a large eagle wrapping us within his wings, hiding us from the enemy. Amazing!!! We are loved so much!!! He treasures us!

David knows that if he follows God’s word it will keep him on the right paths and away from the paths of Satan, which lead to destruction.

By faithful prayer each day we will receive fresh provisions of grace and strength from our Lord

7 Responses to “Psalm 17”

  1. denise

    Very beautiful.

  2. Diane J.

    Lovely choice of scriptures, Jen.

    Thank you so much for your prayers for Jessica and Emmy. I really appreciate it, my friend.

    Love and hugs,

    Diane

  3. Darlene (CWO)

    Thanks, Jen, that was a beautiful Psalm.

  4. jenz

    thanks Denise and Darlene
    your very welcome Diane

  5. Barbara H.

    I am so glad for His care and protection and deliverance!

  6. Gretchen Hanna

    Thanks for the scripture, Love.

  7. Val

    Jen, what you do here at your blog is AMAZING. 🙂

Leave a Reply

