what a morning

Posted On May 7, 2007

Filed under home and family

Comments Dropped 23 responses

This morning Muzz took Billy to school. I was standing on the front porch saying goodbye with Daniel in my arms. I made a step forward (just a normal step) to help Billy shut our gate so Daniel couldnt open it and get out of our section. When I suddenly found myself falling over on to and against the porch sides. The decking I had been standing on had given way under me. I fell and slammed into the wall. Pain seared through my foot, my back and my head. I still had Daniel in my arms. I cried out to Billy who took Daniel off me. Then shouted to Muzz to come and help me. He was in the car. I couldnt move such was the angle that I had fallen. Muzz helped me inside and told me to ring the rental authorities. This is far from the 1st time something in our house has broken. The landlord is slack at doping anything around here. Billy wanted to stay home to look after me. We told him Id be fine. My foot is a bit sore though, as is my head – I have a bruise above my eye – Daniel has a hard head!!! And my back is sore. I rang the rental authorities they cant do much yet. I rang the council they dont deem our problem as bad enough. I wrote a letter to my landlord ordering him to fix the decking. The wood is rotten. My wonderful next door neighbour whom is married to a builder says its fencing wood and not decking wood that the porch is made of. She jumped carefully on the porch and said it shouldnt even move as it does. She helped me barrier the porch up so that no one else can get hurt including Daniel.

deck-3.jpg The HOLE!!!

deck-2.jpgfront of porch

deck-1.jpgside of front porch

I dont like to be confrontation but the landlord has to do something. The letter is in the mail. My landlord has til the 24th to fix things up or I can tell the rental authorities again.

update.jpg
By bedtime last night I found this bruise.jpg on my bottom and my lower back is sore.  Also although there is no bruise my upper right arm is sore it feels kinda like its in the muscle.  I cant wait till Muzz comes over next. Hes an expert at massage. Due to all this I didnt sleep too well.  Rather hard to get comfy

23 Responses to “what a morning”

  1. Debbie

    This is not about being confrontational it is about safety for you and your family. I hope you really are ok! Keep an eye on that head bump it could be worse than you think!

    I had a bad landlord several years ago. He refused to fix the carpet on the steps and after I fell and broke my wrist I told him he was one day away from a law suit. He had it fixed that afternoon! I will pray you get the same kind of satisfaction from your letter!

  2. Alice Teh

    Oh dear… this thing shouldn’t be happening, Jen. I hope you’re OK. I also hope that the letter will yield desirable results. Keep well and be careful!

  3. Diane J.

    Wow, I hope you’re okay, Jen! I’m glad it wasn’t any worse, but still…your landlord should keep his property in better repair. We rent, too, so I know all about trying to get anything repaired in a timely manner.

  4. Rachel

    Ouch Jen! I’m glad you and Daniel weren’t seriously hurt! I hope that he gets his A into G (your landlord) and fixes things up quick smart!

  5. denise

    Bless your heart sweet one, I pray that you are ok.

  6. Toni

    Oh my! I’m glad you were not more seriously injured. But you could have been, as could have Daniel. Be persistent in requiring the landlord to fix the porch. And I have a bad back so I know I would have been in serious pain if this had happened to me. So sorry it did happen to you.
    Blessings,
    ~Toni~

  7. Barbara H.

    Oh, my — I am glad it wasn’t worse, but this was bad enough. I agree with Debbie — it’s about safety rather than confrontation, though sometimes it takes confrontation to get things accomplished. Keep at him til he gets it done.

  8. Wenchy

    Morning… found your blog via my fabulous, good friend, SuperMom.
    Yikes, I am glad you are okay!

  9. Amber

    Good gracious! I’d say you’re more than a bit justified to get that hole fixed. Here’s for hoping that landlord gets on it right away!

  10. Dariana

    Have a great week and keep after your landlord. My hubby and I are landlords besides our regular careers and there is no excuse for your landlord not to repair things.

  11. supermom

    Oh my goodness, I’m glad you didn’t get hurt more seriously than that! I hope your landlord fixes it up ASAP

  12. Gretchen Hanna

    I’m so glad you weren’t hurt any worse. I’m glad you have a friendly and helpful neighbor. Rest easy today if you can.

  13. jenz

    thanks everyone Im blown away by the fact that you all care so much 🙂

  14. Amy

    The deck is probably an illegal one since he’s used fencing wood and not decking wood, it’s most likely untreated as well, no wonder it went rotten on you. I’m glad you are ok though. Can the tenancy tribunal do anything about your landlord? maybe you could get some advice from the citizens advice bureau about how to approach your landlord legally. Legal aid can be a good thing to use too.

  15. chloemilskit

    Oh no!!! Sorry to hear this, Jen! (((hugs))) Hope it can be fixed fast — your bottom, too! 🙂

  16. Val

    btw, jen, that was me up above as ‘chloemilskit’ 🙂

  17. Janice (5 Minutes for Mom)

    OH GIRL!!! I am soooo sorry to hear!!! That is just terrible! Glad you are (somewhat) ok and that your injuries aren’t worse. I sure hope they come fix it soon!

  18. Liza

    Oh I am sorry to hear this. I hope and pray you are feeling much better and the bruises are healed (or healing fast).

  19. Jana

    OUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *hug* Hope you are feeling better. Get to the doc if you have any wierd side effects.

  20. jennyr

    ohhh…so sorry about this accident! I am hoping you would feel better soon and take some good rest…{{{HUGS}}}

  21. kate5kiwis

    ouch jen.
    sounds like you need some R&R. get better soon :o)

  22. jenz

    thanks ladies still taking it easy and havent seen the landlord

  23. Tackle it Tuesday - Praying He comes « Prayer Warrior

    […] For background reading refer to this post. […]

Leave a Reply

