Thankful Thursday

ttbuttonthumbnail.jpg

click on the picture to link

I have 2 BIG thank yous and am so GRATEFUL to these 2 people people this week.

  • First of all Muzz for giving me a wonderful Mothers day. He cooked me breakfast in bed and helped the boys give me some wonderful pressies. Love you hun
  • On Monday afternoon we had an IEP (Individual Educational Plan) meeting at Billy’s school with his teacher and special learning teacher. It was a hard meeting for me. While Billy has improved academically since September last year. His behaviour of late at home has not been good. Hes been lazy, lying and his attitude has sucked. Muzz came with me to the meeting and I ended up crying. I was scared that Billy was turning out like his sister. We had big trouble with her last year. I feared it was all going to start all over again. I blamed myself for Billy’s behaviour. If one child lies, back chats and causes trouble you can say well thats her but here was Billy following very similar behaviour. Anyway in the meeting I cried and Mrs W Billys teacher whom I get along with well. Hugged me and almost cried along with me. Shes so nice. The support I got from her was wonderful. She is going to lend me a very good book she has. She along with my wonderful next door neighbour said to come and see her whenever I need to. As we were leaving Mrs W gave me a candle and told me to go and have a glass of wine at home. As we walked out the door Billy gave me a BIG hug and said sorry to me. He has been a bit better since then.
17 Responses to “Thankful Thursday”

  1. Diane J.

    Oh my, do I remember those days! If I have any advice, it would be to be consistent in your parenting. Don’t let something slide because you’re tired of correcting or just tired. Hard to do, I know from personal experience.

    Hope things improve with Billy soon.

    Love and hugs,

    Diane

  2. Lynn Donovan

    Hey,

    So cool…. Breakfast in bed… I don’t think I have ever had anyone make me breakfast in bed. Truly a great Thankful Thursday.

  3. Denise

    You have a very beautiful thankful heart my friend.

  4. eph2810

    It is wonderful that Billy has such a great teacher. I am sure that you all work it out together.

  5. eph2810

    Oops – hit the ‘submit’ button too early.

    Thank you for sharing your grateful heart with us this week.

    Blessings to you and yours…

  6. Amy

    I have to wonder if you and I are hitting the teenage years early with our boys. Mine is 12 tomorrow going on 16. *sigh*

  7. Jan

    Hi Jen, Its certainly not easy bringing up Kids now but I don’t think it ever has been. Billy will benefit from having Muzz about and you have a lot of support from friends as well. I guess you don’t need to feel that you are alone. Pray and leave it with the one who alone is able to bring about the real change in Billy. Gain strength and courage through Him who is able to uphold you in all your troubles. Much love

  8. Mary

    It’s hard work being a parent. It takes a lot of prayer and trusting God to change the hearts. Don’t give up. Keep pressing on. You’re a good parent because you care. So hang in there.
    Breakfast in bed. Now that is SWEET!
    Blessings on your day.

  9. jennyr

    wow, so sweet of your kids and ur hun to treat u special on mother’s day…i never got that treatment,lol!

    and abt ur son’s behavioral problem, it must be really tough to go thru it and most of us mothers will always take the blame.even my 4yo how she behaves now, i take the blame why she is so disrespectful and stubborn…i am trying my best to treat her good even when she does bad coz i feel like i am loosing her everyday and i hope it won’t get worse, good thing your billy has been a bit better and hope it will be the start of everything good! wish u luck…

  10. Laurel Wreath

    My son is on an IEP plan also, so I know exactly the meeting you are talking about. Glad you had a wonderful Mother’s Day.

    Have a great day.

  11. Jana

    Awwww… *big hug*

  12. Nise'

    It is wonderful that you have the support of Muzz and a great teacher to help you and of course, the support of our great and awesom God! Thanks for sharing.

  13. mrs. diamond

    so glad you had a good mothers day! breakie in bed..how nice!

  14. Christine

    I will be praying for your son, and for your guidance in how to handle his behavior. It is so hard when we feel out of control of our children’s behavior but God has the ultimate control! Blessings to you, today!

  15. Alice Teh

    Muzz’s soooo sweet! Bless him! 🙂 I trust God will do His work in Billy in His own timing. God bless!

  16. jenz

    thanks friends your prayers mean a lot

  17. Gretchen Hanna

    My son doesn’t currently have an IEP, but has had one in the past. I was just ranting about his difficulties on my blog this week.:) You know, God will provide them with everything they need. It’s just hard, as a mother, watching them forge their own paths. We have to give them roots and wings, but really, there’s little else we can do for them. I feel your sadness, but I have full confidence that the Lord is working in this situation for His glory. Hugs to you.

Leave a Reply

