Where do you want to go for dinner? (In the Hawkes Bay of New Zealand)

Posted On May 23, 2007

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 11 responses

I was tagged by Susanne
with this Eating Out Meme. While I love eating out, I dont actually do it that much but I told her Id give it a try.

Here are the rules.
1. Link to the person who tagged you.
2. Include the state/province and country you’re in.
3. List your top 5 favorite places to eat locally where you are.
4. Tag 5 other people and let them know they’ve been tagged.

1. The Rose and Shamrock Village Inn. Although I ate here for the very 1st time on my birthday. Id go again. The staff were lovely. The atmosphere was wonderful. They had the option of sitting inside or out. They provided my birthday cake for FREE. The food was yummy and very well priced. I usually order (where ever I go) fisherman’s basket and something chocolaty for desert. “The best Authentic Irish Bar in New Zealand” according to this website

logo.jpg

2. McDonalds Taradale or Hastings. Taradale is wonderfully designed in art deco. I love the large mural it has one wall within the Fast Food Restaurant. McDs “is situated in the refurbished building formally known as the Taradale hotel. The Hotel originally opened in 1869 and was then known as the Duke of Edinburgh. Fire destroyed the building in 1904 and after rebuilding was again demolished in the 1931 earthquake. The hotel was subsequently rebuilt in the Art Deco Style. More recently the hotel was sold to McDonalds Fast Food Chain and was scheduled to be demolished. After intervention by the Art Deco Trust the only Art Deco McDonalds in New Zealand was opened in Taradale in 1997” (http://www.taradalehb.co.nz/attractions.asp). Both have good playgrounds which is now very popular with my little man. Hastings has the cafe side as well. Which while being more expensive than the traditional McDs side is still yummy when we can afford it. Both are of course good value for money

mds-taradale.jpg

3. Valentines Napier. Yummy food. I like smorgus boards where you can eat as much as you like and go back for seconds. When its your birthday they give the birthday person their meal for free.

2236227-valentines_in_napier-napier.jpg

4. Hot Chick and Cool Cat. Lovely views as its right on the beach. If you love chicken then this has to be the place to go. Its chicken cooked in a New Zealand style. Again you can either eat inside or out on the lovely decks. The Cool Cat is in the same building and is the pudding side where you can get a very generous ice-cream. Gotta love the names of this restaurant

hot-chick.jpg

5. Hastings RSA – Gallipoli Restaurant This is where we went when (Muzz’s) Dad turned 70. Smorgus board style dining. Although we didnt I would have loved gone into another part of the complex where they had a great band and have a dance.

I hope Muzz reads this meme. He was just saying the other day that we should try to eat out more often and hopefully this will give him some ideas 😉

Now to tag 5 people.

Jana, USA

Melany Sth Africa

Alice Maylaysia

Lisa in Hawaii

Jenn in Canada

11 Responses to “Where do you want to go for dinner? (In the Hawkes Bay of New Zealand)”

  1. Murray Whittington

    I take that is a HINT HINT!!!

  2. Diane J.

    I love to eat out! I have to say though that your McDonald’s is much different from any of the ones I have seen or visited here in the States.

    Nice meme, Jen.

    Love and hugs,

    Diane 🙂

  3. Alice Teh

    Hi Jen, I’ll work on this very soon. Will let you know when it’s up. Thanks for tagging me 😀

  4. Denise

    Another great meme.

  5. Susanne

    That is the fanciest McD’s I’ve ever seen. Love the name of Hot Chick and Cool Cat. I love chicken. What is New Zealand style? Is it lots different than your average, run of the mill chicken?

    This was neat, Jen, seeing some restaurants from your area! Thanks for being game and playing along.

  6. Barb

    A peanut butter and jelly sandwich at Hot Chick and Cool Cat would be just fine. I’d be happy with the view alone. Sigh.

  7. Val

    It’s so neat learning about places in NZ! I love that Mc D’s!

  8. jenz

    Suzanne the website tells you how its cooked 🙂

    so do I Val!! 🙂

  9. Liza

    Thanks for the tag Jen. This looks really fun to do. I’ll work on it on the weekend and will let you know when it’s up.

    Liza

  10. Alice Teh

    Hi Jen, mine‘s FINALLY up! It’s mainly Chinese restaurants. LOL.

  11. Nicole

    The Rose and Shamrock Village Inn sounds good!!! Authentic irish bar..yumm..Hot Chick and Cool Cat sounds so cute for a place…must try going to this place if I go to New Zealand
    Ps thanks for doing the tag. I hope you enjoyed it.. If you know of anyone else doing it please feel free to send me a message and I’ll update them too on the updated list of tag doers

Leave a Reply

