‘I AM’ Study Lesson Ten

Posted On July 13, 2007

Filed under faith, I am study

Comments Dropped 11 responses

 

click on the picture to link

 

Before I start the study today I would like to pray for our host Lisa. She has been a busy lady and a bit overwhelmed . I pray that she gets everything done that she needs to do. That she is able to draw her strength from the Lord. And that she would get time each day to get a little rest for resting in Him will help her cope.

I would like to address one of Lisa’s points in her lead up discussion before the questions

“I can think of many times when I have withheld punishment on my own children in public because of what I thought others would think of me” I think with the government (talking about the New Zealand government as I dont know much about other countries ones) and their laws regarding what a parent is allowed and not allowed to do with their children causes a lot of us to now raise our children in fear. We should be allowed to punish our own children (within reasonable limits) as we see fit. But alas we cant. If we are viewed to be over stepping the mark and may i add is there even a mark these days then we could face our children being taken away from us. In New Zealand even time out is viewed as kidnapping.

However, I fear this will all lead to a generation that have no respect for their elders. To a generation that are not well-behaved and have no self-control. Contrary to what some people believe (even ministers) I do believe that God expects us to punish and correct our children when they misbehave. But it comes back to Lisa’s statement can we actually do this because of the way we may be viewed by others???

I do not think that punishing our children in public is “airing ones laundry.” I think that if a child is misbehaving anywhere the parent should have the right to punish and correct that child right there and then. This does not mean I would smack my child in a shop but even taking it to a more private place in a public place may be seen as incorrect. However, for some children to “wait until you get home” lessens the impact of what they have done. And I for one will not stand aside while my child misbehaves. To do so only asks for more trouble. God corrects us because He loves us. I love my children therefore I punish and correct them when they do wrong. But deep within me is that fear of how it may be viewed. What the consequences may be (to my family and I) if I simply correct my child in a public place. Any place really if someone views how I am raising my children as not correct in their eyes.

Discussion Questions:


1. Have you ever experienced trials that were best dealt with “in the family” for either your reputation’s sake or God’s? You may still choose to leave them there, but you are welcome to share if you are comfortable.

Yes but I firmly believe that trusted discreet Christian friends should also be included as they can offer us support. We are not suppose to be “lone rangers.” Last year when we wrongly and hurtfully accused of terrible things by my daughter we at first felt we should keep quiet but as time went on and as it got worse we leaned on our trusted friends and drew strength from not only from God but them as well. It helped us.

2. Have you ever found yourself in a bizarre circumstance and later were able to walk someone through the same/similar situation? Did you recognize the hand of God in it?

I dont know how bizarre my examples are but they nevertheless have allowed me to get alongside others.

I have been through 2 abusive relationships with men and through these experiences I have been able to sympathise and help other women through these difficult times.

Also I think that the way I was treated at school has allowed me to look out (when teaching) for children who are shy and left out and get alongside them and support them.


3. I was in my late twenties before I ever let myself believe God was for me instead of waiting to smack me upside the head every time I made a mistake. Do you truly believe God is on your side?

Yes I do but like you it took me years to realize I was worthy enough to be loved and forgiven by Him.


4. If God has ever had you in the Holy Spirit Choke-hold (and who hasn’t He?), how have you reacted to God’s chastisement? Were you bitter? Brokenhearted? Grateful?

I was brokenhearted and at times anger but through it I learnt so much and so am now so grateful. I am the person I am today because of Him


5. Write a brief prayer of Thanksgiving for God’s long-suffering.

Dear Father I thank you for all have done for me. For loving me unconditionally just as I am. I am not worthy of your sweet love but You forgive me and love me anyway. Thank you Father for always being at my side. Carrying me when I am weak therefore making me strong. Thank you Father that you seeked me out and called my name and allowed me to be one of your daughters. I love you father forever and ever Amen

 


11 Responses to “‘I AM’ Study Lesson Ten”

  1. The Preacher's Wife

    Jen,

    Thank you so much for your prayer at the beginning…It took me a little by surprise to see it and then all I could do was breathe a ‘thank you’ to God for you…I really appreciate your thinking of me when you talk to Him.

    You brought up an excellent point about discipline. I hope you didn’t think I was saying we shouldn’t discipline our children. Goodness knows I do! We’ve had more bathroom trips to the Walmart than I care to count. My main point was the fact there are times when either in order to protect our own name or the name of our children, we deal with things privately instead of making a spectacle. For example, once as a teenager I did something really stupid and my mother, who has a flair for the dramatic, instead of protecting me called every mom of every friend I had to tell them my mistake. In some way, I always felt she was trying to protect herself by making sure everyone knew she had nothing to do with my poor decision making. Does that make any sense? What she accomplished instead was to make us all look bad when she should have held it inside our house.

    I also thought alot about your #1 answer… It is so great to have friends with whom you can share the deepest hurts of your heart. By keeping it in the family, this is what I mean. Sometimes our family are ones we have chosen instead of ones we have been born with…

    Thanks for your answers! You realy have added to this week’s discussion in an interesting way! :))

    Lisa

  2. Connie Barris

    We are such broken creatures really… fragile… I know that I so want to be what God wants me to be.. and I know that I won’t be perfect…

    I guess we just have to follow our hearts.. and realize if we were all perfect, then God didn’t need to send His Son after all…

    I so appreciate your precious honest answers..

    great insight to better understanding and getting to know you

    thank you… and be blessed this evening

  3. Jan

    Interesting responses, Yes God does love and asks that we love Him with our whole heart mind and strength, because He first loved us. That makes it possible to be perfected in Him at last and to love Him fully. I agree Jen with your thoughts on child punishment as we see so many examples of lack of it in our society. God’s word sheds light on that as well, Spare the rod and spoil the child, the rod can be a literal smack or our rods of suitable punishment. Its much needed .

  4. Denise

    Beautiful, honest answers sweety. I love the prayer, so precious.

  5. Miriam Pauline

    Bless you for sharing. I believe, in relation to question 1, often “keeping it in the family” does involve a few Godly friends–after all we are the body/family of Christ. Often God uses a person close to me to deliver the difficult messages I need to hear. Have a beautiful week.

  6. Leticia

    I am beginning to really enjoy these questions. You are so honest Jen and that is very commendable.

  7. jenz

    Lisa no problem at all to pray for a loved one is easy ๐Ÿ™‚
    I love you my sister in Christ and love the studies
    You are a good mum Lisa this topic has been on my mind for a long time I apologize if you felt in any way was getting at you
    I wasnt
    I felt it tied in with the discussion and I may even reprint it later this week to see what others think
    i dont feel it is right that governments should dicate how we parent our children. Most parents are loving caring and sensetive to their childrens well being but we are put in a positiion of being scared about what we can and cannot do because of the law of the land
    I know only too well how our reputitions can get tarnished in a blink of an eye
    I dont think correcting our children however is making a spectacle though. If anything it would our children that would be doing that.
    Im sorry that your mum did that to you. I dont believe in shaming children in public. All that does is humiliate them and that teaches them nothing.

    Lisa I really like how you said
    “Sometimes our family are ones we have chosen instead of ones we have been born withโ€ฆ” We certainly found out who loved and supported us through our time of trial last year.

    Connie may sweet blessing rain down on you now and always

    Jan I love it when you come and visit here ๐Ÿ™‚
    Through your comment here I have gotten to know you more and I its lovely to know you are a sister in Christ
    Its a real shame that we cant parent our children without fear. It really upsets me when some people (whom shouldnt be parents) abuse their children. But the normal parent wouldnt do that yet we cant punish our children without being fearful of the consequences.

    Thanks precious Denise

    Miriam bless that special person of yours
    I pray that you have a beautiful week too ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. jenz

    Thanks Leti
    I LOVE this study ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Gretchen Hanna

    Jen, I so appreciate your honesty and humble answers. I also love your prayer. May it be mine, as well. (((hugs)))

  10. jenz

    Happily Gretchen for He does say “Where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.”โ€“Matt. 18:20

  11. Layers of Me

    Yes I do but like you it took me years to realize I was worthy enough to be loved and forgiven by Him.

    This was also very true for me. It’s quite enlightening when one finally realizes the reality and truth of it.

    Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

