Rain Rain Go Away

Posted On July 18, 2007

Filed under Facts, faith, news, On this day

Comments Dropped 17 responses

Im not a winter person.  I prefer to be warm.  I love the sun.  I dont like having to rush out to the car, open it as quickly as I can and getting soaked wet no matter how fast I am.  Might be slightly better if we had a garage but even then Id have to open the door (of the garage).   I dont like not being able to get my washing dry either.  However, it could be worst.  If I lived in other parts of the Hawkes Bay I could be having to cope with this.  I could be stranded in my house as Muzz is.  Or even worse I could be facing my house or car being flooded.

 23423181.jpghouses_in_the_rain_b.jpgrain_glass.gif

Over the last couple of days  in particular but longer than that altogether the rain has poured and poured and poured some more.  I woke up yesterday morning and looked out my kitchen window there were HUGE puddles in my driveway I just knew there were floods somewhere close.  Then I turned on the internet and the TV and sure enough I was right.  I longed for the Bay I thought I had moved to the sunny Hawkes Bay.  May the sun shine again real soon and I am waiting eagerly for the summer to return to us.  I am not a winter person.

Read these articles

Army called in

Rain returns 

more rain look at the gallery here on this page too

Hawkes Bay

Soaking 

and pray for those effected.

17 Responses to “Rain Rain Go Away”

  1. Frances

    Hi Jen,

    Thanks for your comments on my blog. I’m not a big fan of winter either, give me sunshine any day.

  2. jenny®

    we needed rain here. sounds like the same case in my homeland…my father kept telling me it’s raining almost everyday there! Here, the grass are so brown and it’s really dried out out here…

  3. Denise

    Bless your heart, praying for the rain to stop.

  4. Amy

    I wondered how you were doing. It sounds like you’ve got the rain we’ve had. At the moment we are having the 2nd non-rainy day in two weeks and there’s more downpours due on Friday *sigh* I’m itching to get back into my garden but it’s so saturated.

  5. Diane J.

    One of my Aussie friends was just complaining about how cold and rainy it is where she lives as well, but they’ve been in years long drought and need the rain.

    It’s hot and too dry here. Too bad we can’t do an exchange of weather.

    Love and hugs,

    Diane

  6. Mary

    I love the seasonal changes, but I know what you mean about day in/day out rain/snow. Nothing like mud everywhere to get my spirits down.

    Good for you for looking for the positives, and spring, for you, is right around the corner, right? 🙂

  7. Susanne

    My goodness that is a lot of rain. It’s hard to wrap my mind around the fact that you are having winter when we’re smack dab in the middle of a heat wave in the middle of summer.

  8. Murray Whittington

    Im doing this from my wireless laptop as its cold and wet still so I decided to do this in the lounge and its still raining here, please can everyone pray for sunshine here as we need it to soften the blow on the rain.

  9. kate5kiwis

    jen
    i’m a Sunshine Addict too.
    we had a Beautiful Sunny Day in TheSunnyBay today….

  10. Tanya

    It’s raining here today too – not as much as you have gotten though. I hope the flooding is not too bad.

  11. jenz

    Jenny that was the problem even though it was raining the flooding was caused we had a drought and there was nothing for the rain to soak into to

    that would be lovely Diane

    hope so Mary

    Oh Kate rub in y dont ya LOL

  12. Connie Barris

    It’s feast or famine… we were / are in a drought situation but so need the rain…. and we are finally getting some..

    looks like you guys are really getting some…

    most areas have too much or not enough…. ;-(

  13. Kayinpa

    When I first started to read your entry, I was wondering why you were posting about winter when its the middle of summer (here in the states) and then I remember that you are on the other side of the world. I am not crazy about winter either…I hope the sun shines real soon.

  14. Barb

    Now I feel bad because Rob and I have been praying for rain and were very excited to get a big thunderstorm last night. My word, I wouldn’t want the rain you’re getting! I hope it stops soon. That’s just too much rain. I’m keeping the victims of the flooding in my prayers.

  15. Alice Teh

    Hi Jen, it doesn’t rain much here in Kuala Lumpur now and it’s getting a little bit hazy. Lots of people are not feeling well and the flu bug is floating around. I’ve just recovered from mine…

    I’ll keep the flood victims in my prayers…

  16. Gretchen

    Hang in there, friend. xxxooogretchen

  17. Melany aka Supermom

    Like you, I’m not a winter person. However I am thankful that we don’t get rain in the winter. We have LOVELY summer rain but not in the winter. Can’t wait for summer to come back.
    My thoughts to all those flood victims

Leave a Reply

