‘I AM’ Bible Study Lesson Eleven

Posted On July 26, 2007

Filed under faith, I am study

Comments Dropped 7 responses

 

To link click on the “I AM” button above


Burning Questions

1. When is the last time you encountered a Fist Shaker? This may be a stranger to you or as close as a loved one in your own home. Does anything in our description help you to understand their animosity towards God? Are you able to have more compassion towards them?

One person in particular comes to mind.  It is years since I encountered this person.  I understand the person has a huge problem with control issues.  I pray for her.

2. Does anything about Rahab’s redemption strike a nerve? This may be a question you would like to ponder privately. Sexual sin and/or victimization can be an area where Satan has an enormous stronghold because it can hold so many painful and shameful memories. If Rahab teaches us anything, please know God can redeem any life and any situation, no matter how heinous it seems, and plant you unashamedly ‘in the midst of Israel’. Rahab deserved death according to Mosaic Law, however she was shown nothing but lovingkindness by the God and nation of Israel.

He is much better than we deserve.  It took me years to believe in God’s Grace.  I am so grateful very day that He loves us and forgives us no matter how badly we screw up.

3. Is there an area of your life in which you feel you have come full circle? Where you’ve come to a place where everything and nothing are the same? (I’m thinking Lord of the Rings when Frodo goes back to the Shire after his long adventure. You have no clue what I just said if you are not an LOTR nerd so just ignore this if it doesn’t make sense! 🙂

LOL shame on me.  I have never seen any of the LOTR movies even though they were made here.

I can remember what I was like before I accepted the Lord and I think He has helped me accept who I am.  I believe that through life experiences He has made me the person I am today particularly when it comes to confidence.

4. When you were born again, did you gain a new appreciation for your surroundings as Rahab did when she received the Promise along with the Promised Land? Has some old place, object, or relationship been redeemed by now serving a ‘high and holy purpose’?

Yes!!! 🙂  We (Lisa and I) have discussed this before.  After I was baptized my surroundings seemed to come alive.  I was aware much more of my surroundings.  I remember looking at leaves in my garden and they came alive to me.  Much more greener than I had ever seen them before.  I believe God opened my eyes to my surroundings and I believe He continues to do so.  I love looking at sunsets and reflecting on His greatness.

5. Believers can still be Fist Shakers. Do you have circumstances in your life in which you find yourself shaking your fist at God? Something He has asked you to endure, asked you to do, seemingly taken away from you? Can you see how shaking your fist is keeping you from your Promise? (I’m not talking eternal security here – Only abundant living.)


There have been a few times when I have asked God why.  I wouldnt say I shook my fist at Him.  But I did ask Him (when I was terribly upset) why he made such and such happen.  He has had to take me to rock bottom a few times but I praise Him as He took me from there to where I am today and I thank Him. He is much better than I deserve and I Love Him.

7 Responses to “‘I AM’ Bible Study Lesson Eleven”

  1. Denise

    Thank you for being such a sweet blessing.

  2. Layers of Me

    “I believe that through life experiences He has made me the person I am today particularly when it comes to confidence.”

    While mine isn’t completely confidence, I have to agree the lessons tossed my way have proved more beneficial than I could ever imagine!

    Thank you for sharing. And God Bless You!

  3. Rach

    Good testimony Jen!

  4. Gretchen

    “He is much better than we deserve. It took me years to believe in God’s grace.”

    I love how simply and eloquently you say this. I agree with both statements wholeheartedly. I love that I can sit here in Seattle and converse with a new friend in Hawkes Bay, literally on the other side of the world. Our God is big enough for this and more. Amazing. Blessings. xxxooogretchen

  5. Miriam Pauline

    Bless you Jen for sharing! Have a wonderful week.

  6. Nise'

    Amen to your response in #2!! I am another one who has not seen the LOTR movies! I have watched about 1/2 of the first one and my kids keep encouraging me to watch them!

  7. Susanne

    “He is much better than we deserve. It took me years to believe in God’s Grace. I am so grateful very day that He loves us and forgives us no matter how badly we screw up.”

    Amen dear sister!!! Thanks so much for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

