The Face Behind This Blog!

Posted On August 3, 2007

Filed under meme, Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 16 responses

Saw this at Jenny’s the other day

If you want to play here the instructions let me know so I can check yours out too

Instructions:

1st step – Post a short blog article that includes a photograph (or a series of photos) showing the face behind your blog. If you already showed a photo somewhere on your site (such as in your about page), then make your post more interesting and choose a photo that’s not currently online.
2nd step – Include links to other people that have displayed a photo, or include their photos in your post, adding a reference.
3rd step – Tag as many others as you like in your post to spread the meme.

me-recently.jpg

 

*My Life*

I’m pretty-much-solo mother of 2 wonderful boys. I do have an important man in my life but we really only see each other in the weekends. I have a large gap between my boys. Billy is 11 nearly 12 on the 16th and Daniel is 2 in November. They get on mostly really really well which pleases me. On Tuesdays Daniel and I go to a local playgroup. Which we both really enjoy. At the playgroup we are rostered on to do different things with the children. Sometimes I do an activity with the children, sometimes I read them a story or sing songs with them. I have an early childhood bachelor in teaching and as well as enjoying the interaction with the children I see this as an opportunity to keep my hand in.

I enjoy blogging, the writing and photo taking. Theres parts of me that wonder whether I should have been a journalist. I also like making friends all over the world. I LOVE reading. I am a Christian and my faith is important to me. I wouldnt be the person I am today if it were not for God.

*My Background*

I was the eldest of 2 girls. I was born and raised in Auckland New Zealand.

I was married and had a daughter. Due to awful circumstances last year she now lives with her grandparents and they are all estranged. I sometimes find this hard but I concentrate on what I do have – 2 wonderful handsome sons and a loving partner.

After my marriage ended I started going out with Billys dad. Soon we moved to Christchurch where we had Billy unfortunately he was abusive and when Billy was 1 we left him and moved back to Auckland. Side tracking a moment Billys dad never truly cared about any of us although he claimed to. He has had no contact with Billy since he was about 3.

When my daughter was 6 years old I home schooled her for 2.5 years. Then I went to uni and got my bachelor.

After 7 years of being a solo mum I was lonely I started looking for a companion I used the internet. I unfortunately meet another abusive man whom I was with for 3 months but it felt much longer. They were a hell of a 3 months. I blamed myself for getting involved with another abusive man and went through a lot of grief particularly feeling I hadnt learnt anything between Billys dad and this man. Eventually we decided to part thank God. He felt I was obedient enough. I had come to the realization that he was a jerk. This was after being dumped at a swimming pool with no clothes, no towels and no way to get home.

I do believe that the internet dating community is just like any other community in society you get the bad and the good in perople. So although this had been an aweful experience. It didnt put me off. Just as I was finishing my time at uni I meet another man, however this man was completely different to any other man I had ever met. He was caring, loyal, sensitive to my needs and that of my children. Had a great sense of humour. Supportive. I cant explain it but I knew this man was different. I was a little scared as we seemed to be crazy about each other and thngs seemed to be moving fast. I told my sister. She meet him and liked that she saw to. She said it would be ok. She reminded me that her hubby and her meet and fell in love and married quickly and they were and are still togethjer. Who was this man you might be asking or you might have guessed – yes it is Muzz.

Before long my kids and I moved to the Bay. Where Muzz has always lived. I finished my bachelor by correspondence and we had our little man Daniel.

Since then I have remained a SAHM.

*My Wishes and Dreams*

One day I would like to live in a better house with a garage. One day I will go and get registered in my teaching but for now I LOVE being a SAHM with my wee boy and love my life as it is. God has truly blessed me.

16 Responses to “The Face Behind This Blog!”

  1. Barb

    You’ve obviously overcome some pretty rough obstacles, Jen. You sound happy now and I’m glad for that. I hope your wishes and dreams come true.

  2. Denise

    This was nice, you are so awesome my friend.

  3. jenny®

    Oh, I’m glad you liked this meme. It is nice indeed to share about a little background and what our life is to our fellow readers. I now know more about you and I can’t imagine what you have been through but thank God that He gave you Muzz and your 2 boys! Now you are showered with love and care. I just hope someday, you’ll be reunited with your daughter and you can have all your kids together with you! Thanks for doing this!

  4. Val

    Jen, it was so neat learning new things about you that I didn’t know. I’m sorry about your daughter (I have no idea what went on there, but I’m truly sorry) and I’m sorry for the things you have experienced in your past. But it seems you have benefited from those past experiences by helping them make you stronger . . . helping to make you YOU. You deserve kudos for that because some people continue to go down the same rough road over and over. I’m so happy to see that you have made it and now can say how great your life is! 🙂 That is a true blessing. You are such a beautiful person inside and out and I feel blessed to know you! 🙂

  5. And Miles To Go....

    wow, that is a wonderful post. I got to know what you look like, things about your life. Thank you so much for sharing that and opening up to us. You are truly a strong woman!

  6. Amy

    hey Jen, that was lovely reading more about you 🙂

  7. Diane J.

    I already knew most of this from bits and pieces in posts throughout the time we’ve been friends, Jen. As Barb said, you can be proud of all you’ve overcome in your life. Thanks for sharing your story with us. 🙂

    Love and hugs,

    Diane

  8. Susanne

    Jen, it sounds like you have walked through some rough waters and come out better for it on the other side. And I’m sure you’re faith was very significant in that. Hoping that things will eventually get worked out with your daughter too!

  9. Alice Teh

    You’re an overcomer, Jen. All these challenges have made you a much stronger and wiser person. I pray God will be by your side always. Thank you for sharing your heart with us. Here’s wishing you a happy weekend!

  10. Kayinpa

    Thanks for posting. Its nice to get to know you a little bit more!

  11. Jana

    Awwww… I’m so glad you did this!!!!

    It’s awesome to see how after you went through so much, God brought a good man into your life. *hug*

  12. Leticia

    You are definitely a survivor! I can’t believe that guy left you at the swimming pool like that!

    Muzz sounds like a sweet man, I think he’s a keeper!

  13. Liza's Eyeview

    Thanks for sharing your photo and story – it’s nice to “get to know” you more and see the face behind the blog 🙂

  14. kate5kiwis

    jen… yes, you are a strong chick and a survivor. your boys are growing up with love and a wonderful role model.
    thanks for sharing your story, blessings and loads of love to you X

  15. Hay

    Very heart felt and intimate post Jen, thanks for sharing. It always amazes me how strong us women are, we seem able to make it through some awful things, pick ourselves up and carry on. I like to think that any of the ‘stuff’ I’ve been through has just made me more grateful for what I have now. You are an amazing example of that, having emerged with compassion, faith and humour, I wish you nothing but the best from here on in. Hay.

  16. Melanie

    What a great meme! You have certainly been through a lot. We just never know what others have been through. I loved this post.

Leave a Reply

